22◇ Hero, Turbidity (Revised)

“You okay, Kuro?”

Kuro.

Kuro?

I know that it was a word that referred to something other than color.

I know that, but I can’t remember.

A big man was holding a human head.

He looks at me with concern.

A head!

Why!?

Did this man kill her?

“What happened, Kuro? Did the magic you used before leave some adverse effects on you?”

The previous magic?

Magic…!

That’s right.

The “Black” magic, I used it.

I can use “Black” magic.

Why can I use it?

Why did I use it?

“You’re acting too familiar with me. …Who are you?”

The man looked surprised.

He looked troubled for a moment, and then said his name.

“I’m Taiga. My friend.”

Taiga?

………………Taiga.

I feel like I heard that name before…

“Color magic… after all, there is no way that such power can be wielded without any compensation. I’m sorry, Kuro. I knew that there was such a possibility. I heard a rumor that the [White Hero] forgets his past with every fight. I knew that your magic must have some adverse effects too. I’m sorry…. I used you………”

“Use?”

 Wrong.

“I only work on my own will. Taken advantage of? Don’t get all high and mighty.”

“I’m sorry, Kuro. What should I say to Shiro and that little girl, Econa, now.”

Shiro.

Econa.

For some reason, those names make my heart warm.

With a *Iki*, something cracked.

From there, something leaks out.

  • [State] has been changed, [Mental Pollution 2.468].

Instantly, a stabbing headache pierced through.

Kousuke kneels on the ground in pain.

“Kuro……..!”

Taiga shouted.

“Hey, pipe down, Taiga. I’ve got a bit of a headache, man, so keep your voice down.”

“…Kuro?”

“Oh, come to think of it, Taiga, where’s Hana? Did you put her to rest?”

“You… are you okay?”

“Huh? What? Oh, the magic from before? Well, I just got a little headache, but I’m fine. You’ve got mental pollution on your status too, right? Do you know what that is?

“………ah, mental pollution. When it rises to a certain degree, your judgmental standards are altered and your ego boundaries are shaken.”

“That’s a little dangerous. Isn’t there any way to counter that?”

“…It’s not possible with magic. I’ve been told that it can be alleviated to some extent by happiness.”

“You are being vague…also, why do you have such a gloomy look on your face?”

Taiga was suddenly on his knees.

Then he speaks up.

He said that Kousuke’s ego boundaries had been shaken right after the use of [Black Night].

Taiga said that despite knowing of the danger, he asked him to defeat Sogles.

He tricked his friend and took advantage of him.

“Ah, that’s okay.”

Taiga looked up as quickly as he could and his eyes widened.

“Bu-but”

“I mean, you’re being arrogant. To begin with, I was going to kill Sogles, with or without any reason.  Don’t just say that you used me. And you know what? Even if we killed Sogles without you, we’d still have to do it the same way, right? And you’re right, my ego boundaries were shaken. But who’s the one that brought me back to my senses? It was you.”

“That’s true, but it’s just the result.”

“I’ll tell you my definition of a friend. A friend is someone who uses you, betrays you, and you think, “Well, this guy’s good enough for me. I mean, he’s using what he’s got to save his friend’s soul.” Then it’s not your fault. If you’re still feeling guilty, then you can let me take advantage of you next time, no questions asked, that is.”

Taiga turns back with trembling shoulders.

”I’m … sorry … I’m sorry, Kuro ……. No amount of gratitude or apologies will ever be enough.”

“Oh, well, cry all you want. Putting that aside, what happened to Hana?”

I heard the sound of crying for a few minutes, I think?

When he finally stops crying, Taiga says.

“I freed her with my own hands. I’m taking this head back with me. I would have brought back Cruz’s and Mio’s if I could have…”

“Oh, right. I’ve all of them”

Taiga made a face that looked as if he didn’t know what Kousuke meant.

““Black” doesn’t absorb everything it preys on – it can sort through it. Like, it’ll turn a Dragonic’s body into magic, but it’ll keep the bay sword, and so on. So all the puppets have their heads left intact. However – and this is something I realized after devouring them – but the body part made of fire was made by Sogles, so I can’t turn that one back. So, when we get out of here, I’ll have to do something about the heads. I’ll leave Cruz’s and Mio’s ones with you, but as for the rest, what do we do about them?”

“…Most of the attackers who can come here and fight the Guardians are visitors. And all of the visitors who appear in this city, have a connection to the [Shizukutei of Life] bar. Let’s talk to them and find out.”

“I see. Well, I’ll leave it to you then.”

“Kuro”

Standing up and holding Hana’s head in his arms, Taiga looks at me with a serious look on his face.

“I have done something unreasonable this time. I can’t change that fact. I will bear this as a sin for all eternity.”

“You are exaggerating it.”

“Listen to me. The word “Good guy” just isn’t enough to describe you. You’re a Hero. If not for the world, then for me. When I hear you call me your friend, I will have to respond to your words. You don’t want me to atone for my sins. So, please remember me as a friend and a colleague.”

Kosuke snickered at that.

Imitating him, Taiga chuckled.

“Don’t worry about that, just treat me to a drink later.”

Taiga rolled his eyes.

That was amusing, and Kousuke laughed even more.

Seeing Kousuke like that, Taiga laughed too.

It’s not a *pfft*, but a wry smile.

“Understood. You can ask in barrels.”

“I can’t drink that much!”

“That’s okay, I’ll drink it.”

“Hey, what the heck. What about the treat!?”

For a moment, they laughed at each other over such silly things.

Previous chapterTable of ContentNext chapter

5 thoughts on “22◇ Hero, Turbidity (Revised)

  1. i see Shiro + Econa = Happiness which = Mental Pollution Reduction. and Mental Pollution is something i already extremely hate, and judging from the conversation Quin should have a high Mental Pollution seeing that she didn’t seem really happy about life, after all she did say she wanted to run away, Kuro go get Quin and make her one of your Harem member with Shiro and Econa! after all she will also give you happiness which = save you from that shit that called Mental Pollution!!!

    Thank for the chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hmm thats quite likely – Quin fights, loses her memory, and repeat. it wont be strange if she lost her mind or/and hated this world for wronging her.

      I find Mental Pollution quite an interesting thing actually as it gives some flavor to the story, Kuro cant be an overpowered chara with such restriction.

      You’re Welcome o/

      Like

      • yeah i know, I just hate it cause i hate thing that affect mind and such i kinda say it in a comment in a previous chapter before that happen… it also because that you can mile away that one days our MC while use it to either save someone or something while overusing it like last chapter but worse and while really forget everyone and everything, and since we still dont know really much about it, there may be some kind of effect that make him strengthen his negative or such emotion like Hate for exemple. i can see that becoming the reason he become “The Next Evil God” or something, which i wouldn’t mind if he made this decision based on “normal state”. but like you said it not a state that is make to be liked either it quite to opposite too something to dislike which work too well on me…. after all there also the fact that he forgot that he forgot, which is also an important factor that i am sure will get a part to play in it. anyway that pretty much my thought on it something i hate but if i were to stole your word, give some flavor to the story which will play later on surely a big part on the story i am sure of it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment