32◇ Third Princess, Arrival (Revised)

“……You mean, Twilight was Kuro’s sister, right?”

Quinn says to Kousuke who is immersed in self-loathing.

“It’s not “was”. She is my sister.”

His voice was so rough that it even surprised him.

“…… No. Sorry. You didn’t say anything wrong…”

“It’s okay, I’m fine. So, Kuro, what do you, want to do?”

“What do I want to do…?”

What do I want to do? I wonder.

That’s right.

Didn’t I just say it to Plath?

Set a goal and choose your means.

Set a new goal.

Your thoughts will become clearer.

The raging waves of emotion calm down.

What is it you wish for?

To be remembered for who you are? No.

To be reminded of the tragedy? No.

To be blamed? No.

I am the older brother.

Towa is my beloved little sister.

I don’t love her because I want to be loved.

I love her because I love, and cherish her.

I admit it. I admit that I am weak.

I’m relieved that she didn’t blame me.

I’m scum.

But that doesn’t make my feelings for my sister any less important.

I just want what’s best for her.

Is it unfortunate to be happy while being oblivious to your previous life?

…No, she has a memory that she doesn’t want to remember.

So, is she, who has forgotten everything, a stranger to you?

…No, she’s still my sister.

So, what is it that you wish for?

It’s simple.

To rebuild a relationship with her, not as Kou-chan, but as Kuro.

To stay by her side as a friend, even if I’m forgotten for the rest of her life.

To do everything in my power to make her happy in this world.

Once he decided, his next action was simple.

There was no need to hesitate from the beginning.

My little sister is alive.

She is alive…!

She can grow up and get old.

She can marry and have children.

She can love and be loved.

She can be happy.

Well, all the better.

“Thank you, Quin. I’m gonna be okay.”

“……Yeah. That’s, good, but… Am I, being helpful, to Kuro?”

“Yeah, you’ve helped me out big time.”

“Okay, Kuro, will you help me too?”

So, what you’re asking me to do is, to help you stop being a hero?

“I thought you were supposed to be thinking for yourself”

“I’m not good at ……thinking…………”

She looks down, dejected.

“We can’t have everything. There’s a limit to what I can do to help.”

“I, see…”

“But I’ll help you as much as I can as a friend. Just like how your words helped me out, I will help you just as much.”

Quin looked up and, for some reason, she reached out for Kuro’s cheek.

“Eh. What’s up?”

“……I don’t know, but… Suddenly I felt like touching it.”

She let go of his cheek and stroked his chest.

“It feels weird, Kuro, what about you?”

“……………… I’m not sure about that.”

“So passionate~.”

Elfi had already regained her smile.

She got herself a new drink.

“Are you done talking?”

Then Lucius joins them.

His smile is tinged with fatigue.

It seems that Towa, who has a strong sense of pride, has recognized the other heroes as “Comrades”.

If that’s the case, his hardship is understandable.

It’s inevitable that Lucius is fed up with it.

“Kuro, if you don’t mind, could you apologize to Towa for the previous thing? I believe that it would be better to at least say hello, if not apologize. I’m sorry if this is a rather impertinent statement.”

“No, you’re right. I’m going to apologize. Will you come with me?”

Lucius smiled and nodded, in a way that would make nine out of ten women fall in love with him.

“Of course! Now come on, let me show you the way.”

And then, Plath came in.

“Kuro-dono! We have finally found you, sir.”

“Oh, Plath. Where have you been? Think of the disappointment of being abandoned by a familiar face at a party like this.”

“What an unreasonable thing to say……. Didn’t you start the fight with Sir Kilparomides and force this petty Officer to back down?”

She was right.

“It’s about time for Her Highness to arrive, so don’t wander around too muc-“

Plath’s words stopped.

Lucius, Quinn, and Elfi kneeled on the spot.

Pulled by Elfi, Kousuke also took a knee and somehow mimicked their gesture.

Left knee down, right knee up, right hand in the salute position, left hand around to the back, head hanging down.

Daltra’s most respectful form of salute.

The only people who you have to take such a pose for are those who belong to the royal family.

Plath, the only one who had her back to the new participant, turns around fearfully.

“I’m already here, Lord Gan Orgelews.”

Kousuke noticed that everyone on the campus was in the same position, in the same manner.

Slightly later, Plath followed suit.

The third princess has arrived.


Previous chapterTable of ContentNext chapter

One thought on “32◇ Third Princess, Arrival (Revised)

Leave a comment