Chapter 10: Gabranth (Part 1) (Revised)

“….Fuh, so what did you think about that meat, brat?”

Hiiro closed his eyes and immersed himself in the aftertaste. Then he opened his eyes a bit and leaked a small sigh.

“Well done, my servants.”

“I know, right. After all, this mea- wait, who are you calling your servants!?”

“Just a joke. Don’t make a fuss, you’ll just ruin the mood.”


“It’s your damn fault!”

“Awawah! P- Please stop fighting! U- Uncle, calm down.”

Seeing the bewildered Muir, Arnold holds himself back unwillingly.

“Hmph, well whatever. By the way, brat, what’s your name?”

“Name yourself first.”

“You’re so damn self-important, aren’t you? Damn it, I’m Arnold Ocean. I’m an adventurer and a cook!”

“A cook? I see. That explains your proficiency.”

“Yeah, I traveled all around the world for cooking recipes. Consider yourself lucky.”

“And this shorty is?”

“Hey, listen to me!”

Arnold retorted, then continued with a sigh.

“She’s Muir Castreia. I picked her up during my travel… She’s my daughter now.”

The slight pause bothered him, but he didn’t think it was worth asking.

“Yo, nice to meet you!”

Muir glances up, looking at Hiiro’s face to see his expression, but he doesn’t pay much attention to it and opens his mouth.

“Oh, so in this world children are lying around.”

“As if! They aren’t treasure chests!”

“Not?”

“Of course not! Some stuff happened in her village.”

It indicated that he didn’t want to tell more about it. Muir also cast down her eyes somewhat sorrowfully.

Got their reasons, huh. Well, I ain’t interested anyway.

A rather pragmatic protagonist.

“So, what’s your name?”

“Why do I have to give you my name?”

“Huh? Come again?”

Arnold was troubled on how to react to every single of Hiiro’s unforeseen replies.

“Just kidding.”

“It was a joke!?”

“I’m Hiiro Okamura. An adventurer and… a reader.”

He thought about using a pseudonym, but from the looks of it, Arnold didn’t seem like a bad guy, so Hiiro gave out his real name. But the main reason might have been that he was feeling pretty good right now.

“What the! The last one’s just a hobby!”

“Fufufu~”

“Oh, Muir’s cute when laughing after all~”

Being told so, Muir blushed bashfully. Arnold made a disgustingly delighted expression as well.

“……..Are you a pervert who is into little girls?”

“Hey, hold it! I can’t let that pass!”

“Uhh…. I’m not… a little girl.”

The two of them got angry.

“Right, right! Despite her appearance, Muir is twelve years old! She can even give birth!”

Arnold said proudly with a thumbs-up, but the little girl next to him glared at him intensely.

“D- Don’t say such embarrassing things!”

Seeing her talk angrily with her cheeks puffed up, Hiiro realized something.

“…… I’ve been curious about this for a while now, but your mood is very different from the first time we met.”

He had imagined her to be a quiet child that never got angry, far from being a cheeky girl.

“Mh? You mean Muir? Well, duh, anyone would shrink back when a crude villainous guy with an evil look appears, not just my cute Muir.”

“Okay, sounds like you would like to taste my sword!”

“Pfft! Try it if you can! If it’s to protect Muir, I’ll even eat shit!”

“……You fail as a human being.”

Muir is also troubled, with a complicated look on her face. No, she seems to be downright embarrassed.

“Pah! She’s just that important!”

Arnold laughed boldly with a wahaha, but Muir called out to Hiiro.

“Ah, um, …… thank you so much for helping me out earlier!”

“Hm? Don’t worry about it. I got something in return for it.”

Muir is relieved to hear Hiiro’s words and to finally be able to thank him. Even so, he can still see the slightest hint of dread in the depths of her eyes.

“Ah, and that sauce you made, it was pretty good too.”

“…… Huh? Oh, really?”

“I wouldn’t lie regarding the taste of food.”

“Fee…… ah, that……than………… Shank you…….ah.”

He could tell that she bit her tongue, but he ignored it because he didn’t think that it was something he should comment on.

However, Arnold’s face becomes slightly grim when he sees Muir’s cheeks blushing at Hiiro’s words.

Still, Muir looked happy to be praised, so he seems to be holding back from retorting.

“By the way, Hiiro, there’s something I want to ask you.”

“I’m not going to tell you anything about my abilities.”

“Grr……”

He knew that was what he was going to ask about, so he made the first move.

“But I never saw a magic that stretches a sword before.”

“It’s not just a sword, but a katana.”

“A katana? Now that you mention it… so that’s a katana? Looks pretty well-made.”

“I don’t know whether it’s well-made or not, but it’s very easy to use.”

“Mhm~ So regarding the—”

“I ain’t telling you anything about my magic.”

“Why! What’s the harm! I shared my meat with you!”

“That was compensation for my help. The matter is closed.”

“Ugugu…”

That’s exactly what it means to not get caught up in the flow of conversation.

“Anyway, I’m surprised you can chit-chat with a total stranger.”

“Mh? Well, some way we ended up eating together after all. Besides, you don’t look like a bad guy.”

“What makes you think that? I’m human after all. I might attack that ‘Gabranth’ shorty.”

“!?”

In an instant, Muir turned pale and Arnold seized his broadsword.

His expression was full of hostility. But Hiiro calmly looked at them.

“Wh- Whatsoever could you be talking about?”

“Your reaction tells me more than enough.”

Arnold’s reaction proved that Hiiro had been right.

“Kuh…. How did you know?”

“….Mm.”

He pointed his finger at a certain place. It was Muir’s bottom.

“B- Bastard! You were lusting after Muir!?”

As he seemed to have a huge misunderstanding, Hiiro reluctantly spelled it out for him.

“Take a closer look. It’s moving around all the time… her tail, that is.”

“Eh?”

This time, Muir exclaimed in surprise. She quickly checked behind her and had her breath taken away.

It’s probably because the frilly, silver hair-covered fluffy tail was peeking out of her skirt.


Previous chapter Table of Content – Next chapter

2 thoughts on “Chapter 10: Gabranth (Part 1) (Revised)

Leave a comment