Chapter 7: Shitō・Tsuranuki (Part 1) (Revised)

The overwhelming cheer of the villagers reached his ears. Hiiro mumbled “So noisy” with one eye closed, but no one heard him.

The village chief took his hand and thanked him in tears.

“Thank you! Thank you very much!”

“Y- Yeah.”

He answered, a bit bewildered. There Panis came over as well.

“Y- You are a great adventurer, aren’t you?”

“No clue. They were just weak, right?”

“No, no, those guys are the 《Harios Brothers》and they must have been pretty skilled adventurers. Although notorious.”

Hmmm, he nodded curtly. Honestly, I’m not interested in these guys’ life story.

Then he suddenly felt a light hit on his bottom. When he looked down, Nies was there.

“What the hell, Nii-chan! If you’re this strong, you could have helped us from the very beginning!”

“Hey, Nies!”

The village chief rebuked him, but in the next moment, everyone was surprised at Hiiro’s action. Because he lightly nudged Nies’ head with a thump.

“ack! What’cha doing, Nii-chan!”

“I told you – I’m not an ally of justice. I don’t give a shit about saving people. I saved your asses because this old man…no, I saved your asses because he and that little guy asked me to. With a reward, of course.”

“Eh…Coco too?”

Coco nods, “Yeah!” and smiled, like a blooming flower.

“Besides, since you hit me, that was just payback.”

“Wha!?”

Ignoring the pouting Nies, Hiiro turned the topic to Panis. Needless to say, it was about the reward.

“Now then, old man, let’s get on with it and ask the village chief about the book.”

“Oh, y-yeah, no problem.”

Panis showed an empty smile while looking at Nies, who glared at Hiiro with teary eyes puffed cheeks.

When he informed the village chief about the reward, he agreed without any problem. He said that the books will be brought to Hiiro later.

The village chief even offered to remit his lodging fees, which Hiiro gladly accepted. It was an unexpectedly fortuitous move, as he also offered to prepare a sumptuous meal for him.

“Well, let’s go then.”

“Hmm? Where are we going?”

Panis shouldn’t have any business with me anymore, right? He thought so while staring at him.

“What? Did you forget? I told you, I would give you our best equipment.”

“I thought you guys had already prepared your reward for me?”

“No, no, you haven’t received any thanks from me yet. I’m in a great mood right now! I’d love for you to take it!”

Apparently, Panis will be rewarding him as well.

Well, there’s no harm in taking what I can get, so It’s better if I just honestly accept his kindness.

After that, he headed towards Panis’ shop, but every time he ran into a villager, he was thanked. Earlier he wasn’t welcomed, but now he was like a VIP.

So self-centered.

Of course, he could relate, but he didn’t have a favorable impression of them due to their sudden 180 in attitude.

“This is my store.”

“Oh, you have armor too, not just weapons.”

Hiiro looked around the shop and checked out the stuff on display.

“So you said you would give me your finest equipment, but which is it?”

“Fufufufufu. I’m glad you asked.”

His laugh was a bit annoying, slightly coquettish even. Then he went to the back of the store and brought back a single sword.

“This one!”

“Oho.”

“It’s called [Shitō・Tsuranuki].” (TL: Shitō・Tsuranuki = Stabbing Sword・Pierce = Piercer)

It looked like a Japanese sword and had the same blade length as one. The only difference was that the blade was transparent like ice. It certainly was breathtakingly beautiful.

“It’s a Katana specializing in piercing. It’s a sword that was created by some people of the ‘Gabranth’. Unlike the swords made by ‘Humas’ which focus on slashes with all of one’s might, this one has a sharp blade to cut apart the prey with speed instead of power.”

Being Japanese, Hiiro knew this, but he still listened in silence.

“Of course, I can guarantee the sharpness of [Shitō・Tsuranuki] too. But this guy’s real strength is the thrust! As the name suggests, it is a sword that specializes in piercing through anything. Although it’s shaped like this, it’s also very sturdy.”

“Where did you get such a sword?”

“Through some connections. I kept it dearly so far since I wanted to make it an heirloom.”

“I’m surprised those two didn’t take it from you.”

“Well, that’s because I had this one hidden in the basement storage room.”

He said proudly while puffing out his chest. It must be that important to him.

“Can I really take it? I mean, it’s an heirloom, right? In other words, not for sale. I thought you would give me something from your regular assortment.”

As it wasn’t displayed in the store, Hiiro thought it wasn’t an article for sale.

“No, well…it’s a bit regrettable, but I feel like I can entrust it to you.”

“…Aren’t you giving me too much credit? It’s not like I took those guys out because I wanted to. I already said it to that brat, but I ain’t an ally of justice.”

“As if that matters!”

“Mh?”

“You have saved this village. Regardless of the process, that fact alone is enough for us.”

Hiiro looked at the katana once more, and for some reason got the urge to hold it.

“…May I?”

“Sure, take it.”

“Okay, thanks.”

Saying so, he accepted [Shitō・Tsuranuki]. Even though he touched it for the first time, it stuck to his hand as if he has been using it forever. When he put it on his waist, it was yet again a perfect fit.

His face inadvertently brightened up.

As a Japanese male, it was quite satisfying to have a Japanese sword hanging on his waist.

What a lucky find.

He gained a level and found a good sword, so he had nothing to complain about. After Panis thanked him again, he left the shop and returned to the inn as there was nothing more to do today. But on the way, someone was blocking his path.

“Nii-chan, do you have a minute?’”

It was Nies. Coco was next to him.

Nies got angry when Hiiro made a big sigh.

“Why do you look so annoyed!”

“Hah…”

“Come on!”

Hiiro wanted to tell him not to point at other people, but there would be no end to it once he started to pay heed to him, so he wanted to get this over with quickly.

“What do you want, brat?”

“Don’t call me brat! I may not look like it, but I’m seven years old!”

“Yeah, a legit brat.”

“Kii~!”

“He is the village’s benefactor, Nies.”

Coco chides Nies.

“I know that, but don’t you dare treat me like a child!”

“…Hah. So, what’s up?”

“Tell me your name.”

“…What?”

“Your name! My father told me to ask you!”

“Your father? Who’s that?”

“The village chief.”

“………you were the son of the village chief?”

“Fufu, awesome, right~”

Nies said proudly, but Hiiro wasn’t the least bit envious. Coco also looks at Nies with a sense of dismay.

“Ah, sure, sure. Really amazing~ I’m sooo surprised~ Amazing alright~”

“…Nii-chan, you don’t think so at all, do you?”

“Well yeah.”

“You just admitted it!?”

Nies had his mouth open wide in shock, but at this rate, this would really take a lot of time, so Hiiro reluctantly decided to tell him his name.

“It’s Hiiro. Hiiro Okamura.”


Previous chapterTable of Content – Next chapter

4 thoughts on “Chapter 7: Shitō・Tsuranuki (Part 1) (Revised)

Leave a comment